top of page

Superintendent Ricci Recovers From Brain Tumor


After experiencing functioning problems at the end of last school year, Superintendent Barry Ricci decided to go to the doctor to see what was the matter. After understanding that there was a brain tumor, he underwent surgery and currently is in full recovery mode.

Last May and early June, Ricci started experiencing problems with functioning on his left side, all though he did not realize it at first.

“I have a habit of picking [my wallet] up with my left hand and putting it into my left pocket.” He continued by saying, “Three times I lost my wallet. Three times it was returned to me. That went on for about a month and I never really put it together.”

Like every Chariho High School graduation, Ricci made his speech to the senior class. Although he thought he was fine, some audience members texted him complimenting him about his speech and also saying that he looked a little different.

After that, he called and went to his doctor on Monday, June 11th. While at the doctor’s office, he had a CAT Scan and found out on the right side of his brain there was a brain tumor. The tumor on the right side of his brain caused him to have difficulties functioning with the left side of his body.

The following Thursday, June 14th, Ricci had surgery at Rhode Island Hospital. He says that he had great care there and is very appreciative of their level of care.

Through this process, Ricci has had two motivators: his work and his grandson. As for his work, he attended a meeting with his superintendent colleagues, he dedicated the Chariho Alternative Learning Academy, and gave his opening speech to the teachers.

“Even bigger than my work was my grandson. I had his picture up in my hospital room the whole time. A tremendous motivator,” Ricci added.

Today, Ricci is making a positive recovery. Although after his surgery his brain was not functioning the way it was supposed to, things came back. Currently, he goes to occupational and speech therapy and is working on strengthening his mind and body every day.

After what has happened, Ricci has received an overwhelming amount of support and best wishes from the community. He admires their level of thoughtfulness and is committed to be more thoughtful of others in the future.

“I’ve committed to trying to be more thoughtful because we know we are busy with things and we often times forget about the importance of human contact,” Ricci said. “Those things have been so impactful for me.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page