top of page

Chariho’s Lussier advances to nationals in Scholastic Art Competition

The Art Department is happy to announce that Madelyn Lussier received 2 Silver Keys and 1 Gold Key for her photography entries in the RI Scholastic Art Competition. Her Gold Key winning work will automatically be advanced to the national level of adjudication in New York City in March.


Her works include:





In Between the Lines - Silver Key
















Reflections - Silver Key












Thoughts by the Seaside - Gold Key









When asked to give her thoughts on her works, Madelyn responded the following:

  • Describe the process of creating these photos, which one was the hardest?

"Thoughts by the Seaside" was a photograph I took over the summer, when I saw my little sister looking out into the ocean I wanted to take a picture showing how big the ocean is compared to how small she is. For the photograph "in Between the Lines" I took a projector and projected black and white lines to show them wrapping around the model. The hardest photograph was "Reflections," I was having a hard time coming up with ideas, so my cousin and I took a mirror outside after it had snowed. We weren't sure what we were gonna do so she jokingly screamed into the mirror and in the end, it worked well with my portfolio.


  • How much time did it take to create each piece?

My pieces can take up to an hour or two, if I can envision an idea beforehand it makes the process much quicker, most of the time I come up with a concept but not an actual idea. I end up asking my cousin if we can go somewhere to take pictures when I don't have an idea there's a lot of trial and error trying to capture the perfect picture.


  • Is there a unifying theme amongst your three works?

"Reflections" and "in Between the Lines" were part of my portfolio from AP 2D, I wanted to show the different aspects of mental illness. "in Between the Lines" is depicting how it feels to be stuck, and wrapped around this constant darkness, "Reflections" was about self-hatred, both of those showed different ways mental illness can be portrayed. "Thoughts by the Seaside" shows how wide the world is around us and how small we are


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page